My commentary on Jordan Peterson’s 32 Maxims for Men

So I was recently made aware of a list of “Maxims for Men” compiled by a website called Thrilling Heroics, who claims that the maxims were espoused by the famous professor of clinical psychology Jordan Peterson. Apparently they seem to be lifted from his postings on a Q&A website named Quora. Below are the tenets, with my own commentary in brackets and in Italics.

  1. Encourage children through play. (Seems reasonable enough, probably the best way for children to learn too)
  2. Promote the best in people. (Very positive)
  3. Keep the sacred fire burning. (I’m pretty sure this is supposed to be symbolic for something, the fire of the will maybe? If that’s true I can be down with that. Though I’m not sure that’s what he actually means.)
  4. Guard the women and children from harm. (I see that’s a very traditional male role, but ultimately a positive one that can be particularly expected of the father in the family)
  5. Confront the eternal adversary. (I’m assuming this is symbolic as well,)
  6. Build the crystal palace. (Also pretty sure this is symbolic, not sure of what though)
  7. Confront death with courage and return. (A clear reference to the Hero’s Journey, possibly calling on the ideal man to be death-defiant)
  8. Dare to cut down a tree. (I suppose you could do that if you wanted to be manly)
  9. Offer your sons up as a sacrifice to God. (…what? Is that supposed to be symbolic as well? Because if it is, I don’t think I like that being left to my imagination.)
  10. Protect your daughters from exploitation. (Agreeable)
  11. Store up wealth for the future. (Sound advice)
  12. Consult the ancestral spirits. (Is this guy for real?)
  13. Read great books. (Awesome. Knowledge and applied wisdom is power.)
  14. Speak the truth about unpleasant things. (Preach it! The world needs honesty.)
  15. Pay close attention. (I’m all ears)
  16. Make a worthy temple for the Lord. (OK at this point I’m pretty sure this is a Christian self-help guide)
  17. Keep the howling winds of winter at bay. (Pay your bills)
  18. Stand up for the oppressed. (Hopefully this means the actually oppressed and not simply those claiming to be oppressed)
  19. Provide a warm and secure home. (Isn’t that what keeping the howling winds of winter at bay is for?)
  20. Be a prince of peace. (It’s Jesus isn’t it?)
  21. Don’t be too civilized. (Don’t be a cuck. I understand that. But I kind of think that means not being a prince of peace, not that I intend to be one anyway.)
  22. Organize yourself with other men. (Hang out with male friends or like-minded men, I guess? Sounds alright.)
  23. Be faithful to your wife. (Agreeable)
  24. Be hospitable to friends and strangers. (Friends definitely. I don’t see why I should have to do anything for a stranger though if it’s my business.)
  25. Rout the wolves and chase the lions so the shepherds can eat. (I’m pretty sure this is also supposed to be symbolic, not sure who the wolves and lions are in this case, I suspect he’s lifted it from a Christian source judging from the language employed)
  26. Establish a destination – and a path. (Organize yourself. Got it. Seems like good advice.)
  27. Bring heaven to earth. (I thought Peterson was against utopians.)
  28. Take on the sins of the world. (Oh fuck off at this point.)
  29. Dig the wells and mine the gold and copper. (Clearly symbolic. Not sure of what.)
  30. Gather everyone to the banquet. (Like the 12 disciples?)
  31. Grow up and take responsibility. (A fine thing to expect of people.)
  32. Resist pride in all things. (Pride in your own accomplishments is nothing to be resisted.)

All in all this seems like a fair bit of sound advice on how to be a good man packaged in with some Christian bullshit. I kind of thought that Jordan Peterson might have been a Christian, because he does draw from Christian myth to some extent in his ideas and to be fair I think he does offer a fairly refreshing take on religion, but with these maxims I just have to say some of his views are clearly ridiculous. Like why the fuck would you have #8 there at all?  I get that you are probably being symbolic, but it’s hard for people to get that when it outright says “offer your sons as a sacrifice to God”! What the fuck are you saying!? I shouldn’t be surprised that he is a Christian given that he actually believes that atheists like Sam Harris deep down believe in Christian metaphysics because , which is retarded. To be honest, I am disappointed given that I promoted one of his ideas that I actually liked.


Original article: http://www.thrillingheroics.com/maxims/

6 responses to “My commentary on Jordan Peterson’s 32 Maxims for Men

  1. to be truthful, when someone comes out with “protect the women and the children” I think, yeah you do that, I’ll protect my loved one’s thank you. Why not offer your daughters up as a sacrifice, and protect your sons from exploitation? I know this is just the basic mammalian programming though, so that’s why I think there needs to be enough people to do differently. I’m never going to be a part of “reproductive virtue”, and that’s just how it is I guess. Jordan can protect the women and children, I’ll just go ape shit with anyone who tries to touch my men 😉

    • I wonder, is Jordan completely honest about his religious leanings all of the time? When I first heard him talk about Christianity he didn’t say he was a Christian but it sounded like he was kind of sort of advocating for it in a more modern sense. With this he might as well just flat out say “Jesus is your savior”.

      • yeah, I see what you mean. It’s kinda “what would Jesus do (if he were a red blooded breeding male)”

  2. To be clear, Doctor Peterson self-identifies as a Christian. His use and interpretation of religious symbolism is derived from Jungian psychology and can be understood once one has spent enough time on his YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

