Some pre-Inauguration thoughts

This week I will be disrupting my plans for the blog slightly in order to release a few posts about the upcoming inauguration of Donald Trump as President of the United States of America, including this one as well as a post on my thoughts on the ceremony itself after I finish following it. I’ll also be releasing a post about Barack Obama that I’ve been sitting on for a long time since the 2016 election cycle, sending him off as he leaves the White House in that special, cynical way that I feel inclined to (let’s face it, if you followed my blog from its early days you’ll no that I just don’t like the Obama administration, for reasons that will become clear as you will see within this week).

Truth be known, however, I write this particular post with a sense of concern on my mind. While I think it is likely that the inauguration ceremony will go ahead on Friday without too many problems, there is a fear that I had at the back of my mind. I know that there will be those who will seek to protest the inauguration, in fact there is a movement of protesters who plan to “disrupt” the inauguration of Donald Trump in whatever way, but that is not my main concern. I know that there is great animosity, indeed I would even say antipathy, towards Donald Trump among many people in America. There are many who refuse to accept him as President, despite having been elected just as any other President before him has been, and it seems the US media is actively against him to the point that they will print or give credence to unverified gossip and even conspiracy theories in order to try and undermine him. You even have people who believe that they are part of some kind of “resistance” against Donald Trump, drumming up the kind of propaganda that some will recognize as echoing the era of the Cold War, and some people who unironically suggest violence against either Trump or the Republicans. It may only a matter of time before some violent ideologue, or some political zealot, uses that to carry out some kind of violent action, kind of like how Micah Xavier Johnson went from a troubled US army veteran to the murderer of five police officers in Dallas.

My main fear is that, and keep in mind that I consider this to be the very worst case scenario, either someone will once again try to assassinate Donald Trump, this time during the inauguration ceremony, or that the protests that occur in the country will eventually become violent after some radical agitates things, perhaps hijacking what may overall a peaceful protest, and cause destruction and harm innocent people in the process. We already know that after the results of the election came in and Donald Trump was elected President, America saw protests across the nation, which then devolved into riots. The fact is that there is a contingent of the politically active American population that is so anti-Trump that that will not allow themselves to accept the legitimacy of a Trump presidency no matter what, and I suspect that some of them will stop at nothing to prevent it from happening if it were up to them. There’s even already talk of political violence among some in the DisruptJ20 movement.

And guess who else is getting involved?

None other than Antifa: that infamous band of far-left brownshirts who don’t even realize that don’t even realize that they are the ones acting like Nazis by imposing their political will on others by violently attacking people who hold the opposite opinion, and the very same group of people who tried to disrupt the International Left Hand Path Consortium last year. I wonder what Augustus Sol Invictus must be thinking right now. Anyways, not only do they intend to show up as part of the DisruptJ20 protests,  which they have announced on Twitter, but if a recent video courtesy of Project Veritas is accurate then they may be plotting some kind of political violence at the Deploraball event. It seems likely to me that these people will stop at nothing to try and thwart the inauguration of Donald Trump by whatever means they deem necessary, and will not have any qualms with their methods.

Honestly, I hope I am wrong and that nothing happens, everything turns out to be fine and everyone including the president elect is safe and unharmed. But I wouldn’t put it past some of the radicals to try and make sure that the inauguration ceremony is marred by political violence. I am hopeful, for the sake of my American readers, that what I anticipate for Friday turns out to be incorrect, and that anyone in the area of the inauguration ceremony or of any potential protests remains safe.

Leave a Reply

