A Halloween/Samhain update

I think I’ve worked out at least part of what I want to do for Halloween/Samhain 2016.
I figured that death should be the theme for me more than devilry would be for Walpurgis Night. As such, I think a skeletal costume would suit perfectly. I wanted to do a bit of cultural appropriation, in a tongue-in-cheek nod to the PC Halloween costume scares that plague universities, so at first I turned to Tibet and the Citipatis, the demonic protectors of cemeteries, graveyards and charnel grounds, but no Citipati costumes exist and I don’t think I can just make one in the time that I have. For the skeletal costume I suppose I could instead reference the Day of the Dead and Shin Megami Tensei and look into a Matador costume. Or perhaps references the Voodoo deity Guedhe – I found a nice-looking on eBay that I believe resembles Guedhe. Since I’m a fan of the band Ghost, I could just dress as a skeleton pope in a way that might resemble the band’s frontman/mascot Papa Emeritus, at least to add a “religious” dimension to the rite via the performance of some kind of blessing. Could also reference SMT by dressing up as the violin-playing Fiend named David, who may be based off of Death playing the violin in the Danse Macabre, with a combination of a skeleton body costume and some kind of pied piper outfit.
Still not sure about the rite itself for the night of October 31st, other than I like the idea of incorporating respect for the dead or a dead ancestor (in this case probably one or both of my late grandfathers, both of whom died ten years ago). I’d like to incorporate a jack-o-lantern somehow as well but not sure how to do it. There’s probably more to a rite or working that I need to pin down soon and I’m probably going to end up changing up my altar in order to accommodate it. I will probably do some kind of “Danse Macabre” of my own to some dark music (on a vinyl or CD), whatever I think fits what I consider to be the general vibe of the season, before the rite itself. I don’t have a lot of time to get what I want for my rite so I’ll have to lock something down soon.
In the meantime, I’ve been made aware of a Halloween party not far from the date of October 31st and I might consider going. I’ll have to draw up a plan for attending the event and preferably find a friend to go with.
Lastly, here’s a gallery of images to represent some ideas I was thinking of. I’ll probably settle on one of them within a day or two.
Leave a Reply

