Apatheistic Satanism

Recently I have started to feel that the debate between theism vs atheism is something that I’m not personally invested in. It’s not really that relevant to me.

First, the broader question of “is there a God?”. I don’t see why I should care. I’m interested in deities and some such concepts in a mythological or occult sort of way, but not the concept of God Almighty as a religious concept. If there is a God, and that God is the father in the heavens that many people think of him as, I don’t care. I certainly do not feel inclined to obey such a God if that God is really the same God described in the Bible, the Tanakh and the Quran or in similar fashion to either of those texts, though maybe that’s the anti-theist in me. If there is a God, and that God isn’t a father in the heavens, I still don’t care either we still have a very distant God, remote from our lives. Hell, even if you believe in the monotheistic God, the reality is that God is of no use whatsoever because that God is actually quite distant. If there is no God, so what? What need do most people have of an almighty God anyhow when there is a lot about our lives that simply doesn’t depend on such a God. We don’t inherently need such a God to put bread on the table, to raise a family, to forge our societies and our laws, to determine the decorum of human relationships, to run our governments, or for most things. There even exist forms of spirituality that don’t actually depend on a concept of God Almighty (like the Buddhist kind, to use a familiar example). I certainly don’t feel my life depends very greatly on an outer God whether it’s the God adored by Abraham or Muhammad or the infinite God praised by the Hindus. As I said earlier, I might be interested in deities, but I don’t quite care too much about fealty or worship towards externalized deities as found in the polytheistic belief that came before Christianity and revived by modern pagans either since I am not a theist. And for that matter, why is the debate about God more pressing to people than individuated consciousness?

Then, the debate about theism vs atheism in Satanism. I am equally uninterested in that matter. Should it matter whether or not Satan is an actual deity worthy of worship outside the mind of the individual Satanist? This question is extraneous to the ultimate point of Satanism: Man ought to be master unto himself. Based on that premise, there is really only one “God” that I feel one really needs in Satanism. To me, any kind of divinity to be found within the individual self is more important to the Satanist than the existence of any outer being. Ultimately, I don’t care whether or not any outer beings actually exist. I just want to pursue my path, explore the possibilities, all while focused on my values and my growth as a person and in general not get too hung up about it.

I guess you can describe me as sort of agnostic, non-theistic, and in fact apatheistic – apatheist being the word for someone who does not care whether or not God exists. In other words, I am currently an apathetic agnostic Satanist/Luciferian.

To be an apatheistic Satanist, I feel, is a bit like what being a non-theistic Satanist would be like if the question of the verifiable existence of a God or a literal Satan was irrelevant. Whereas atheistic forms of Satanism, such as that of the Church of Satan, are partly based on the premise of certainty that there are no Gods at all, apatheistic Satanism means that you are a Satanist who thinks the question of God and literal gods is irrelevant and therefore the apatheistic Satanist isn’t invested in the question of God and the theism versus atheism debate.

3 responses to “Apatheistic Satanism

Leave a Reply

