What does he know?

My brother recently told me something about car insurance that seemed a little surprising. I always thought that car insurance was terrible for people under the age of 25 because it was too damned expensive, and one of the lecturers actually told me that’s because they see people under 25 as being a liability. He was told by one of his classmates that car insurance is actually not as bad as I say it is, and that in fact the cost of car insurance goes down after you turn 21. We had this discussion about what our plans were regarding getting a car, and then our Dad decided to weigh in our conversation by telling us that we were looking at £1,000 a year. I don’t know where he heard that from, or anything about his insurance provider, so that didn’t help much. But he was also the advocate of the notion that we’re better off staying at home. For how long exactly, I’m not sure. Honestly though, it seems bogus to me. Just because Dad apparently lived an OK life by staying home with his parents until the age of 26, and without ever going to university, doesn’t mean we’d be happy living that way.

He’s also convinced that my brother and I won’t be able to get driving licenses anyway. The reason? Because we’re autistic. For Satan’s sake, that has to be the dumbest my Dad told me. Does he honestly think of autism as a liability? What kind of father implies that? He’s not really bad person as far as I know, but what the hell man? I’m still far more concerned about the fact that he honestly would prefer that we just stay comfortable with our current circumstances, despite the fact that we’re meant to be moving towards personal independence. And I would prefer that we make that kind of progress sooner rather than wait until I’m in my 30’s. I can’t help but wonder what he has to lose by us making those leaps? Or maybe he’ll just never see it from his point of view.

7 responses to “What does he know?

  1. I know lots of adults with autism, self included. Some drive, some don’t for multiple reasons, often not due to being autistic per se but other reasons- anxiety, Tourette’s tics, nausea etc. There really isn’t any across the board thing that All Autistics ™ can’t or can’t do, you have to ignore a lot of the “evidence” as proclaimed by various “experts” as its so skewed towards more severe forms of autism. I often find that people (and systems) who make assumptions about what we are or aren’t capable of are more of a handicap than autism itself.

  2. Autism is just an umbrella term used to describe a myriad of conditions of different degrees just because they stem from the same source, kind of. Saying someone is autistic is not enough to imply what they can and can’t do, as autism is different in every person.

      • Same as me. Assuming all people with autism have the same needs and impediments is a sign of huge misinformation on the subject. I find it quite curious that someone who fathers autistic children is not aware of this.

      • He doesn’t have to deal with me and my brother as often as our mother does, that’s probably why. He probably hasn’t had to negotiate anything for us since we were children or since after he and our mother split up.

        This is also the same person who, just today, told us that you can’t trust anyone from Iraq. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

