Accepting imperfection and failure

There’s something that might be sticking to me that I pick up from both my game design course and my brother, in the latter case it’s more because of how I react to what he does and what he tells me. In the former case, I have to deal with animation students in one of my course modules who seem to obsess with the perfection of a product rather than the practice of production. They think a lot about making something realistic and visually striking to earn good grades, but I don’t really care about that. This is partly because I don’t think I can and I’m able to live with it, but also because I don’t like the expectation of perfection hanging over me and making things more restrictive. As a game design student, I prefer the acceptance of imperfections, utilizing your own skills and building upon them, and balance, rather than pursue visual perfection and focus on currying favor for it even if it’s from the lecturers.

As for my brother, I often complain now of how wound up he can be about failing to do his college work, or when he complains about a painting he made being ruined (and blaming it on something), or when he criticizes me for my espousing of my belief in will, the power of will, and the acting upon it in order to fulfill desires on the grounds that I haven’t yet achieved my goals with those ideals and beliefs in mind, even when I tell him I do the best I can. It’s simple to apply, but not necessarily easy to do. The individual will always encounter some failure, and no one is perfect in their endeavors, so I feel like we shouldn’t get hung op on imperfection or the possibility of failure. Instead, I think that we should accept it. I don’t think individuals should hope to fail, or deliberately set out to fail, or just not bother striving to be more of themselves. I just think that if you fail, you might as well accept it and move on, and be comfortable with imperfection. It doesn’t matter if you’re not perfect, or the best, just try to do the best you can or be the best you can be and not get wound up about the possibility of failure. That’s why nowadays I can get angry with people who get wound up over me making a mistake or an error in judgement, as has happened on my course in at least one module.

2 responses to “Accepting imperfection and failure

Leave a Reply

