Accept distinction, reject sameness, and stand out with pride

Sometimes on social media I encounter ideas that are familiar, but stupid. One of those ideas is that we were once all the same before the advent of race, religion, wealth, class, whatever bogeyman you can think of led to our separation. It’s utter foolishness, because there are always things that distinguish us from everyone else. Intelligence is one thing. Creativity and imagination are other things that always separate us. Yet another is strength, and how much a person has acquired. Still another is morality and philosophy, the ethics and principles by which each of us abide by. Even nature divides us through the bodies we are born with. We all have different physical attributes (such as fingerprints, genes, physiological proportions, even DNA), and you’d be hard-pressed to find two people who are completely identical. But the single most-important factor in the distinction of all human beings is, ultimately, ourselves.

We are all different in terms of our individual being, and everyone has different personalities, character traits, attributes etc, but we also distinguish ourselves by the actions we take in our lives, our interactions with others, how much we make of our lives, and the experiences and fruits we reap of them. In a sense, we are distinguished by our souls and, you might say, our karma. We all bear identities distinct from others, and we all take different paths from each other. So long as this is true no one is the same, and no one is equal at least in nature. We are all entitled to the same rights under the law, and we are all entitled to equality of opportunity, but no one will ever truly be the same because everyone invariably distinguishes themselves one way or another, no matter how small the distinction is. In my opinion, the only way to truly recognize the individuality of sentient beings is to accept this fact. I think there are those who try to advocate individuality on the basis that we are all the same, and in my opinion such an attitude is hypocritical and self-contradictory. How can you believe that we’re all different, and that we should all be ourselves and be individual, while at the same time believe that we are all actually the same? If you believe that we are all the same, there is no point in maintaining any arguments of individuality, and I feel there really is no room to sit on the fence with this matter. Only by accepting the reality that everyone really is, in fact, different, can you truly advocate individuality without self-contradiction, because when you strip everything else that made us different, the only thing we have left is ourselves, our desires, and our will, and it’s usually those things that make us all different more than anything else.

Somehow I get the feeling that the people who can’t accept that we’re all different try to believe we’re all the same because the flip-side everyone being different means the potential for conflict because we can’t all agree with each other, and they fear conflict because they think we should always be at peace. I would think a state of peace would involve people being able to co-exist despite their differences, and of their own will and desire. There’s also a cynical feeling I have that people want to think everyone is the same so that they can get off thinking everyone else is the same as them, which might be convenient for people with serious problems. There’s is a third idea I have that people think we’re all because, to them, everyone not being the same as each other means being isolated and alone, and to me this only says that people can’t find friendship or brotherhood with others without some kind of conformity element involved, which should worry you in some ways.

In my personal experience, I have always felt myself different from others in some manner. I’m fairly certain that when I was younger I didn’t always have a clear idea of how I was different besides the fact that I was autistic and therefore considered one of the special needs students, as my life went by I may have been aware of things that did or was interested in that no one else was. By the time I was 16, I began to know for sure I was different from everyone else, it’s just too bad few people were very close to me enough to understand how. I didn’t care at all for how everyone else lived their lives, I was interested in the mythology and world religions (and a small spark of occult, but I was a tad shaky on that back then because I had no idea what it was) while few others were and I was keen to express that in art class, I tended to have political ideas that were different from others (I identified as anti-government, libertarian, anarchism, and often with the left), and in general operated differently from others, even my brother. This stayed true in art college, my sense of distinction from the majority of mankind continues to this day, and over the yeas my sense of identity has grown stronger. I do not suffer loneliness and isolation at least on the internet, though it’d probably be nice to have more interaction with others with similar persons outside the internet and outside of whatever classes I’m in. Really the only form of loneliness that is a major issue is that lack of someone who is special in more ways than simply a friend: a significant other, perhaps the one who I would probably consider an equal.

I’ve thought a little bit, and I think a new life goal is clear to me: because I know, or at least truly believe, that I’m different from everyone else, one of my goals in life is to make myself shine brighter than everyone else (if you’ll excuse the arrogance) based on that which makes makes me unique and makes me who I am. Whatever path I take in this world, I want to stand out above the crowd for what I am, and take one or two opportunities to reach out and make an impact with my being and, what I feel, brilliance. I won’t go out without expressing myself to the end. It’s strange that I think I feel this way more strongly after I started identifying as a Luciferian, or it might be just that I know what I want more, might be both. It might be a long time before you might see me shining brightly, but one thing is for certain: I don’t plan on being one of those celebrity types everybody clings to.

Leave a Reply

