The Great British Blues

I was initially reluctant to write about the Conservative Party getting elected in the UK, but I suddenly found inspiration to write about the subject, and I don’t want it to go to waste while it’s still relevant.

Anti-Tory protesters

As you probably already know, in my country, the Conservative Party scored a sudden and surprising majority in the results of the recent general elections two days ago. And not long after that, a lot of people in this country reacted very negatively to the prospect of the Conservative Party being elected for another five years, and this time without the Liberal Democrats joining them. A lot of people were angry not just about the fact that David Cameron won, but at the electoral system for the way the votes were distributed. Of course, even if the electoral system were different, the Conservatives would still have won. Anyways, it wasn’t long before people took to the streets to protest the mere fact that the Conservatives returned to power, and the protesters soon began clashing with police and occasionally engaging in acts of hooliganism.

Here’s my take: When I first heard people were protesting Cameron winning the election I didn’t think “what a heroic political action that is”. No, I thought “give me break”. I agree that David Cameron is a monster who only got elected all of a sudden because of a last minute campaign based on deceit (they basically convinced people that if they don’t elect the Conservatives, then a Labour-SNP coalition will get elected instead and ruin the economy), and I feel the Conservatives will make the country worse than it is now, but I also feel that the protests that are happening in London are a waste of energy. One way or the other, the people voted for him, they enabled him to return to the office of prime minister, and if the people don’t like it, then the only decent thing to do is to take responsibility for their choice. Instead of complaining and causing riots over the mere fact that Cameron is elected again, we should be directing energy towards actually challenging the policies that his government plans to implement.

Look, protesting and rioting about the fact that Cameron got elected isn’t going to accomplish enough, certainly not if protesters are clashing with police and behaving like hooligans. David Cameron won’t get out of political office because you all don’t like that he won because the reality is that Cameron doesn’t care what you think of him being in office. And he doesn’t have to. I don’t agree with him being in office, but he’s not going to get out of office just because I don’t like him. And protesters clashing with police and graffiting war memorials is only going to give him less reason to give a fuck what the people think.

I’m not saying we should just lay back and allow the government to implement all its nastier policies. But I am saying that it’s time for the people who voted him in to take responsibility. You believe in democracy? You believe in we the people? Then do your part if you really want to. Challenge the government on its policies. There are better things to protest you know. Protest the Draft Communications Bill (better known as the Snooper’s Charter). Protest their plans for healthcare. Protest their desire for greater austerity. Protest all the things they want to do, but don’t whine about them being elected in the first place because that’s the kind of thing that’s destined to fail.

5 responses to “The Great British Blues

  1. Your absolutely correct – protesting and rioting because someone was properly elected is insane –

    While my research into the difference between European Conservatism and American Conservatism has not been extensive, I would argue that the Tories by some minor definitions that I have read stand more for small government and personal responsibility vs a government nanny state.. That being said – I know that politics are a broad landscape and basic definitions never fully describe the situation –

    In my humble opinion – all government is working towards the same goal – and that is the control over the people. Different parties are elected, other groups come to power, however the same results end up happening worldwide – individuals lose freedom, governments become more oppressive and intrusive – and everyone thinks ‘Next election I will vote the other party in’ – and it is a never ending vicious cycle of idiocy and never ends.

    But that is my just my take on it –

    • I don’t think the Tories are exactly the same as the Republicans from America. Also, in the UK, republican means someone who advocates republic instead of monarchy, which I guess would be me since I dislike the presence of the British royal family in this day and age.

      • British conservatives seem to support economic austerity and upper class tax breaks, and preach on and on about traditional values, much like the US Republicans, but they also oppose cuts to government, whereas Republicans claim they favor small government. That said, I have heard that the conservatives in the last five years have made cuts to the police in addition to education and science. British conservatives may also support strict border control and complain about multiculturalism and immigration. They also seem to want to privatize the NHS. They are more relaxed about renewable energy and the death penalty, but I think they tend to be tough on crime. In retrospect, they do sound similar to the American conservatives, but trust me, for how nasty they are they aren’t nearly as psychotic as American conservatives.

Leave a Reply

