Giving Lucifer his due

On various occasions I have been thinking about Lucifer and Luciferianism, particularly in reminiscence of how Lucifer was basically how I saw Satan in the past, and I more recently I have been trying to examine the philosophy of Luciferianism in comparison with Satanism. Between January and this month I have been pondering Luciferianism, and a few days after being shown the Greater Church of Lucifer, I think I can finally say what to do about it on my own.

You see, in recent times, I have started to feel that I have always been more positive than negative, or at least strived to be. I certainly seem less negative than my brother in spite of my moments of doubt, cynicism, and fear. I have also seen my path of Satanism as a positive path of spirituality, rather than as a purely material path, and I maintained beliefs in the soul and heaven, just that unlike in many religions my soul is my own and that my heaven is my own, and preferred to maintain an interest in the light side as well. I wanted light, but also darkness. I wanted harmony, but also chaos. I wanted those things because I felt both in me in different ways, and I recognized their history as a part of my being. And I wanted to bring it all within a Chaos-inspired Left Hand Path framework.

There are those who may ask me, what is wrong with Satanism? My answer: nothing! I don’t think anything is necessarily wrong with or bad about Satanism, and I never intended to leave Satanism in the strictest sense. Quite opposite. I intend to improve my framework. The thing is, Satanism on its own is a very earthly and carnal religion, and the focus is on pleasure and personal power. I actually still agree with the Satanic creed of live your life for yourself. A creed which can be expressed by Satanists as “Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the law”, a phrase borrowed from Aleister Crowley (but expressed in a totally different manner to the way Crowley intended). I also still follow the Satanic idea that each Man is his own god and the true master of his own life, and I like the idea of seeking out power and pleasure. But on its own, it’s very much a carnal religion, and there’s a lot of emphasis on the darker side and the darker entities. Of course, I didn’t really mind because all that attached to a philosophy I hold dearly: the philosophy of self-freedom, fierce individualism and resistance to self-denial, and personal empowerment. But now I feel there are elements to my own personal framework that are either missing, or not encoded, or just not explored enough. That is where Luciferianism comes in. And, in a way, so does Lucifer himself. 😉

Bringer of Light by fuzzyzombielove on Deviantart.com

Whereas Satanism is a philosophy that primarily espouses the physical nature of man and focuses on the darker side of human nature and the entities that personify it, Luciferianism embraces the carnal, dark, and physical aspects of the self but also believes in the bright and spiritual aspects of the self. In fact, it believes in embracing both light and dark, all aspects of the self, and also advocates balance, often in a manner very similar to Taoism. Luciferianism is a Left Hand Path philosophy that worships the I its fullest form, that teaches that the individual should seek out wisdom and spiritual truth in pursuit of continual enlightenment, improvement, and the godhead of the self, all without negative energy. Like Satanism, Luciferianism is highly individualistic (no popes or sacred texts to dictate your lives, only your self and your inner light), rejects the surrender of the self to any God or universal consciousness, believes in the God within the individual (in other words, there is no true God higher than oneself), and adopts a mythical being as a symbolic archetype for their beliefs while not necessarily worshipping it. In this case, that being is Lucifer. Both Satan and Lucifer are commonly associated with each other in the public consciousness, where both are treated as devils if not referred to interchangeably. But while Satan represents the physical and carnal nature of Man,  Man’s pure animal drives, and the dark force in nature, Lucifer represents spiritual self-exploration, enlightenment, and the individual who is free in spirit and in body. Lucifer is also seen as a kind of Promethean figure, who symbolically stuck his own neck out and dared to share the gift of freedom, fire, and inner light with mankind. Luciferianism is sometimes seen as a form of Satanism that that venerates Satan as Lucifer the light bringer rather than as a figure of darkness, though Luciferians may tend to view their religion as very different from Satanism.

The Greater Church of Lucifer (which isn’t really a church in the traditional sense) has offered me a very interesting perspective of Luciferianism and by extension an incredibly fascinating way for me to improve my spiritual framework and understanding, and it is impossible resist such allure. If you look at their website and their Facebook pages, you might understand what I’m talking about. I am actually called back to when I used to refer to Lucifer rather than Satan (of course that was before I decided I was a Satanist), and my background in Shin Megami Tensei influences, where Lucifer is being associated with the Chaos faction and its philosophy of freedom and unbridled individualism, but the actual philosophy of Luciferianism reminds me of Chaos with influence from Neutrality, or Chaos with a balance, so that’s all the more interesting.

At this point, I must point out that Luciferianism can be atheistic, or theistic, or anywhere in between, much like in Satanism. It all depends on the perspective of the Luciferian in question, and not all Luciferians have exactly the same ideas. And going back to Satan, it’s a similar deal within Satanism. LaVeyan Satanists are atheists, who believe Satan is merely a symbol of the carnal Man and power in this world and vital existence over spiritual, but does not really exist anymore than God does, but theistic Satanists believe in Satan as a spiritual being that embodies those things, alongside a pantheon of Dark Lords. While theistic Satanists don’t worship Satan or any dark lords in a master-servant relationship, they do treat them with nominal respect in a manner that might be similar to modern paganism. Some theistic Satanists may see Satan or the Dark Lords as representatives of a dark spiritual force in nature, much like LaVeyan Satanists only not limited to physical nature, or see Satan as an external being interested in the development of human beings, similar to how Lucifer might be seen. Satan can also be believed to be the sum total of the dark spirits, or dark gods, of human mythology, in contrast to Christianity where he’s just a lord of evil (not to mention, in Christian theology he’s not even a horned god to begin with).

In my opinion, Luciferianism offers an excellent framework for me, and it relates to me in many ways. But I also still wish to continue the Satanic path as I see it, to give myself power to live without fear, to be a spiritually stronger individual, and to live right and with honor. So here is what I plan to do: I propose that I can be both.

Lucifer’s Pentagram by LenartLenartLenart on Deviantart.com

Think about it, I can basically see myself as philosophically and spiritually Luciferian, but maintain a Satanic leaning. I can seek about both light and darkness, spirituality and carnality, walk with my complete soul, my self, and inner flame and inner light until the day I die, but also cling to the Satanic path I mentioned by also remaining on the side of the Satanic values of the strength of the individual and the pursuit of power for the individual. This I feel can be achieved by invoking the Black Flame, described by Luciferians and some Satanists, to invoke personal power and become stronger in life. Also, some Satanists believe you are already your own God, and some Luciferians believe the goal is to become your own God through continual wisdom. Personally, I believe I am the creator of my own spiritual and personal world, I am what I am and nothing else, and I am my own master.  I embrace the Satanic idea that I am my own God, but embrace the Luciferian idea of growth and continual enlightenment. I believe that one’s own personal world, one’s own self, and one’s own identity, can be enriched with not just continual experience but also continual understanding. Not just understanding yourself, but understanding ideas and the world which helps you understand yourself anyway. With that in mind, and considering I believe in my own heaven, my own world, I believe that the Luciferian ideal of continual enlightenment can only serve to make your inner world and your imagination that much richer. Enlightenment doesn’t mean a total understanding that overhauls your identity and who you are. Rather, the Luciferian way is to understand your self, and continue learning things as you go, and you see things become a part of your self, or you see your self grow, certainly not be taken over or be destroyed by some religious totality. And, since the Greater Church of Lucifer has shown me many ways, my support for that organization will naturally increase because I see it as an individualized group with values I can get behind, without worrying about succumbing to group-think.

So that’s basically how I stand on Luciferianism now. I have decided to accept Luciferianism as a part of my paradigm, and identify as a Luciferian, whilst maintaining the Satanic ideas I have always maintained, and also incorporating my pagan ideas and ideas from other belief systems. In the future I will explore the concept of the Black Flame and any relation between Luciferianism and ideas I have explored before. But for now, all I have written here will suffice. In closing, I would like to thank my friend Tadashi for initially recommending Luciferianism to me, Tony Asmodeus and Vincent Piazza, along with the people at The Greater Church of Lucifer, for further inspiring my path, and James Nicholson and Sean Ridley Ravensdale for their additional support.

8 responses to “Giving Lucifer his due

  1. I loved reading this post brother – and I am happy to have helped you as best I could as well –

    It is always a great experience to see someone find their path – as that is the entire purpose of ones journey – paths change, and concepts may alter over time – but as long as they serve our purpose in life that is all that matters.

    Infernal Blessings –
    Hail Satan!
    Hail Lucifer!

    • It’s funny, I think of the two of them together as symbolized by Baphomet in the traditional sense. But then Baphomet is classically more a symbol of the absolute, the universe itself and dual natures.

  2. I think that this all represents the larger idea of true human progress –

    In the past, things were relegated to labels and strict conformity to group think or specific paths – however in this newer age way of looking at things, the freedom to follow ones own path – choose bits and pieces of many aspects and make them ito their own ideals, is much more crucial to the development of humanity as a whole.

    This will expand tolerance and enlightenment much more than ever before IMHO –

    • That sounds like one idea I have been thinking about: bringing Satanism, Luciferianism, paganism, and other influences into a path called Chaos, not to be confused with Chaos magick.

Leave a Reply

