Shin Megami Tensei, the iPhone, and Nintendo eShop

In the next month, Shin Megami Tensei IV will finally released in Europe after a year of delay (we thought we were going to get in the summer of 2013, and we turned out to be very wrong), albeit on the 3DS eShop rather than as a physical game. Naturally, I’m psyched, I can’t wait until I get to pay for the game and play it. But there’s one thing that’s bugging me lately: is there a reason they could not do the same thing for Shin Megami Tensei 1 and 2?

As of March 2014, Shin Megami Tensei 1 and 2 were finally officially released to the West, but only as iOS apps.

Seriously? I find this odd. Those aren’t even real games consoles. They’re just smartphones that can play video games as apps. Is that how Atlus is going to treat those games. Nice. Fuckn’ beautiful. Not only that, but if you get the iOS apps for the games, you’re playing the Game Boy Advance versions of the games translated into English. I suppose that’s OK, but wouldn’t you rather play the original Super Famicom games? I for one would, and if I had to judge either version the Super Famciom one certainly has a greater charm overall. And on the iPhone version, you have the buttons and directional pad on the screen like watermarks. I suppose that’s to touch on the screen, but to me, that seems almost like they layered a static Tiger console screen onto the actual game. I mean I’m sorry but that is not ideal for the feel of the game.

Is there a reason why they couldn’t release translated Super Famicon versions of the games on the Nintendo 3DS eShop? It’d make sense. They were originally released on Nintendo’s Super Famicom when they came out and in Japan the games were as well received as the Dragon Quest and Final Fantasy games. Why not treat them that way, with the dignity they deserve? Instead, you they put the Game Boy Advance versions of the game on iOS, the same system that has more than a dozen Final Fantasy games (which probably aren’t that great) including remakes of Final Fantasy I-VI and the Final Fantasy Tactics games, which you’d rather play on their original systems or the Game Boy Advance anyway.

I know you can play emulators and translated ROMs for Shin Megami Tensei 1 and 2, but still, wouldn’t it be nice to play them translated on a Nintendo console? I’d like to see that within my lifetime.

One response to “Shin Megami Tensei, the iPhone, and Nintendo eShop

  1. I agree. What’s so great about iOS games?

    Besides, the guy playing Final Fantasy V in that screenshot doesn’t know crap. To beat Bahamut, you’re supposed to cast Carbuncle (or have Reflect rings for the entire party). After that, you should cast other summons, occasionally casting Carbuncle again to reinforce Reflect status if necessary.

Leave a Reply

