What do labels mean?

I consider myself a metalhead because I like heavy metal music, and I even bought a sleeveless denim jacket just because I liked the fashion sense employed by thrash metal groups during the 1980’s (including the bandoliers). But at the same time, I also listen to music that isn’t considered metal (though is usually still rock), and I certainly don’t fulfill the stereotype of the drunken headbanger since I’ve never sipped even a drop of beer or any alcohol in my life and choose to avoid alcoholic drinks.

And am I really a goth because I tend to like dark things, never mind that I like them for mostly righteous as well as aesthetic reasons? Not necessarily. I don’t claim to identify with that particular subculture, and I don’t feel I need to. And by the way, just because you’re a Satanist doesn’t mean you’re a goth. My oldest brother called me an emo one time (I think I was 15 or something when he did), though I didn’t exhibit any particular stereotypes so I suspect I was being emotional and he called me an emo just because of that. Am I really a geek or nerd because I use the computer frequently and like video games and anime art style? Of course not. These are all fashions, labels, or stereotypes created by others, that I do not necessarily observe or practice.

And do I really need to be a part of a subculture or exhibit stereotypical behaviors and fashions just to be friends or even a lover with someone of a particular subculture? I say, absolutely not! I hate the idea of limiting myself to one subculture for any reason, and I actually doubt that people of good judgment respect you for it. I feel it better to just be myself, I know myself to be unique and different, others know me to just be uniquely me, and I feel that is the only way I should be respected, as myself.

The thing is, labels can be convenient but when you try to describe yourself you can potentially endanger yourself by magnetizing yourself to stereotypes.

One response to “What do labels mean?

Leave a Reply

