The Egoist Manifesto

Yesterday I felt like writing this. It’s a poem, of sorts, consisting of 15 short verses, and I may intend this as a spoken word piece. Enjoy.

NOTE: The following lines are not intended at any one person. Everything typed below was of my own writing.

I don’t support your system for you

I do it for me because I know what I’d get out of it

I don’t follow anyone’s cause for anyone’s sake

Except for my own cause, for my own beliefs

I don’t rebel for the lofty cause of anarchy

I rebel for me, because I don’t like the state of things

I don’t do nice things for the family

I do it for me, because I’m sick of your crap

I don’t go to your places of education for you

I do it for me because I want to learn and interact

I don’t make money because you tell me to

I do it for me because I need it to survive

I don’t help you guys out because I’m expected to

I do it for me because you’re my friends and I care about you

I don’t open up to people for them

I do it for me because I want to open doors

I would never hurt a fly

Unless you cross the line and I just stop caring

I don’t stick by you because you tell me to

I do it for me because I love you and you make me happy

I don’t fight your wars because you tell me to

I do it for me, because that’s what I believe

I don’t worship your God because you tell me to

I worship whatever God I want or no god, for myself

I don’t follow your traditions to obey you

I do it for me because I want to observe them

I don’t help others out of any altruism

I do it for me because it feels good

I have no master, except myself

And as long as I realize this, I am free

2 responses to “The Egoist Manifesto

Leave a Reply

