Why I despise slut-shaming

Outside this blog, I sometimes express my distaste for slut shaming, and I’d rather it not go unmentioned on this blog. I find it a pathetic and lowly phenomenon, designed solely to attack and persecute women or girls who are either sexually active or just have a flirtatious personality. In some cases it’s a way of bullying girls for how they choose to dress, and thus, bullying girls for how they look. Yet in our culture we somehow find it acceptable.

I despise slut shaming and the fact that our society seems to find it acceptable. I guess you could say its because I like girls, and I have no desire to attack them or victimize them, or you could say it’s for rather more “shallow” reasons, and you could be right. But it’s also because I have a strong disliking towards traditional attitudes towards female sexual activity or how women and girls dress (as long as we’re not referring to children obviously), and the sexual prudishness that inspires it. I particularly despise religiously motivated prudish attitudes which enslave humanity and its culture and morality at large. It is nothing more than sexual bullying. I also feel it could be a way of making men feel guilty for their sexual desires and their carnal minds.

Since slut shaming often goes hand in hand not just with sexual prudishness (particularly with regards to dress codes, birth control, and casual sex), but also shunning victims of rape, slut shaming is actually more evil than people take for granted. It allows people to blame women who dress in skimpy clothes for being raped, rather than the rapist, which is complete bullshit.

And what do one girls boobs not being fully in her shirt or her pants being short have to do with you!? Is it really your business how she dresses? It’s their body, their choice. Just because they look skimpy doesn’t mean they’re automatically consenting to anyone’s sexual advances, let alone rapists. It’s common sense.

I don’t even like the word “slut”. It’s such an ugly word, meant for an ugly purpose. I feel caution regarding the word “whore”, because even though it can refer to those who betray their integrity as an artist, it still has the same sexual connotation as “slut”, and I do not want to participate in any slut shaming by using those words. For whose who defile their own artistic integrity, I prefer terms like “traitor” or “hack”.

One response to “Why I despise slut-shaming

  1. I like the way you think. It always pisses me off when someone calls a lady a slut as well. My response is basically “We are all sluts. Slut has no gender.” Of course degrading a female, or anyone else for that matter, is wrong. And I personally feel rapist and molesters should have their heads bashed in.

Leave a Reply

