Being careful about “I”

It’s easy to confuse the body for the self in this society, sometimes I can’t shake the feeling that I myself sometimes slip into this trap. I feel it’s pretty obvious to me though that the body is not the self, but rather a vessel for it.

I’d like to try and refer to the body as “my body”, in much the same way and spirit that one refers to ones organs as “my organs”, rather than “me” or “myself”, because the self and the body are not one and the same. You can change the way you look to reflect who you are inside, sure, but the body is not the same as the self. The body can affect the self in a way, much like one’s experiences can affect oneself, or more or less the body affects one’s emotional state, but it is not the self.

Leave a Reply

