Turned 20, but 18 in spirit

Today, I turn 20 years old. A friend of mine told me that makes me “no longer a teenager”. I understand that he said it in jest, but I feel it necessary to remind myself that though the body may age, and society may treat me in an increasingly different manner (with new expectations), I shall still act on my own instincts and ideas, as I always have.

I undergo personal evolution, to be sure, but who I am in this natural process remains the same for as long as I am not blindsided or sell myself to anything.

So today, I celebrate a full two decades of my life. Enjoying the pleasures of the day as they come, while laughing at the artificial chains that lingered on me as a child (though not completely). Also, I celebrate my essential character, which, while having experienced new ideas, remains untampered with by the world.

In closing, I would like to put on a song below that I think has been with me since I was 10 years old, from the video game Sonic Heroes.

6 responses to “Turned 20, but 18 in spirit

Leave a Reply

