The Ram

Since it’s my birthday tomorrow, I feel like doing something mildly amusing. Talking about things in mythology and the occult that I find coincidental regarding my star sign, Aries, though I usually don’t actively take it seriously.

Amun-Ra is a ram-headed deity of ancient Egypt, considered to be a universal deity, even the ultimate god. He is a fusion of Amun (a god of creative energies) and Ra (a god of the sun), thus we have creation and the power of the sun (which in Egyptian lore also manifests as a destructive power, in the form of the Eye of Ra). This I feel relates to me as a creative individual and someone with an affinity for the sun and the flame. Since Amun-Ra is associated with a universal force, coupled with the creative energy and the sun, I feel Amun-Ra is associated with an intensity that I have an affinity for and spiritual attraction to, much like Shiva.

In the Goetic Shemhamphorash, the 72 demons evoked and commanded by Solomon are paired with 72 pairs of three letters. The demon Baal (or Bael) is associated with the sign Aries, and bears the decan of Aries. Before the emergence of Judaism and Christianity, Baal was the prime god of the Canaanites and the Phoenicians. He was also known as Hadad (or Adad), and in Sumeria he was known as Ishkur. He was associated with weather, storms, fertility, power, and male sexuality. Baal obviously relates to me in non-devilish ways because I tend to be pretty sexual even without the physical level (although there is that one thing), but trust me the mental level counts, as does any form of expression of, and interest in, sexuality and the carnal side of yourself. What’s odd about this example is that Baal was usually associated with the bull, not the ram. This would probably make any connection the most purely coincidental, but also the most interesting.

The god associated with the sign Aries is the Greco-Roman god Ares, or Mars, who of course we all know was the god of war, courage, and masculinity. One may find traces of masculinity and war in my worldview if you have followed my blog or philosophy. It gets me thinking that, despite my other tendencies (including the esoteric, philosophical, and gentle and kind), I tend to be mostly yangish, though I prefer to express masculinity my own way, without conforming to society’s idea of masculine. For instance, I find long heavy metal hair to be very masculine, a better sign of power and masculinity than short hair. I see nothing that says you can’t be fiery, yangish, and masculine, and esoteric, intellectual, internal, dark, or kind and sweet at the same time. And I don’t think being masculine should have to involve picking fights with everyone you see just to prove yourself to the world, and I find nothing noble about treating women as trophies or property. Another thing, I’ve been told the passion for self-identity is very Aries, though I think it can be possessed by anyone and it is a noble ideal to follow.

It looks like Ares can be pretty sexual too. Or maybe that’s just me. Go figure. Still, gotta love the pairing of love and war.

Lastly, there is a Hindu god associated with both the ram and fire. Agni, the Indian god of fire. His steed is the ram. He’s one of my favorite Hindu gods actually. As I already talked about some 6 months ago, I view Agni as symbolic of the spark of life and eternal youth, thus my desire not to surrender the youth of my spirit, and all the things associated with fire, and the quality of being energetic.

There you have it, that’s about all the ram-related mythological/occult stuff I can think of. Besides all this, there’s something appealing about the ram’s head that just fascinates me.

I must remind you and myself that these are basically interesting coincidences, though they all may have some truth to them. I should also note that, as I mentioned, I don’t think I believe in the whole zodiac thing, but I do think the stuff I mentioned is worth it.

2 responses to “The Ram

    • I didn’t mention Baphomet. Though now that you do, the Goat of Mendes is said to refer to a ram god, not a goat. Banebdjedet, a ram-headed deity associated with fertility and the soul of Osiris. Herodotus was the one who described him as a goat, and Eliphas Levi turned the ram into a male goat.

Leave a Reply

