Why I sometimes wish I was a teenager in the 1980’s

Sometimes I wonder what my life would be like if I were a teenager during the 1980’s and I lived in America, particularly California. I can’t help but imagine myself in that setting spending most of my days in the hot sun listening to heavy metal music (you know, traditional metal, thrash metal, speed metal, maybe some doom metal and likely some first wave black metal, but not glam metal), and if it’s California we’re talking about, there’s an entire thrash metal scene to enjoy if you were alive in the 80’s and liked metal music. I’m not sure I can count how many records I’d have in my room.

I’d probably still do drawing, and I may inspire to do either comic books or be a metal musician. I probably would not rule out video games, though the world of video games back then was different to how it was now (though it does change over the next few decades). Maybe I’d still like anime if I could find it in those days.

But really, is there anything so wrong with the way I am now? Maybe there is, but it’s not so bad. I mean sure, my metal background might be more organic if I were around during the 80’s, on account of the likelihood of actually being part of a cultural scene (mainly the thrash scene), but one of the key advantages of this life is that I have the Internet, which has been a very powerful and useful tool for individuality, providing influences and things I like for me to try and fit together. The fact is, it’s fun to fantasize, but it probably can’t replace what I have.

2 responses to “Why I sometimes wish I was a teenager in the 1980’s

  1. I am sure a lot of people in Europe imagine what it is like to be in the USA, every place has its advantages and disadvantages. I say that regardless of where an individual is they have the power to manifest their dream. The individual needs to make careful consideration of if a move of location will translate into a benefit in their goals.

Leave a Reply

