How Catherine the game gives me a sense of triumph

Catherine is a video game released last year, and is a very unique puzzle-platformer/adventure/psychological horror game. It has multiple endings and uses the Law-Chaos dynamic that Shin Megami Tensei uses, and I tend to be a sucker for games like that. The object of the game is to climb towers of blocks and get to the top in a series of nightmares experienced by our main character, Vincent. It’s also one of the toughest games I’ve faced. One time, I faced a level so hard that I stop played for a while. Then I contemplated coming back, and I gradually learned to kick the game’s ass. And when I spend time conquering a really hard level or challenge, particularly one that took so much effort or I almost gave up own, I shriek with triumph and growl gloats like a wild beast who’s about to go home and fuck the prom queen.

When my brother sees me play it and fail many times, he thinks it’s a shitty game, but I know it’s not. A bad game would be sadistic and put you through and when you complete the level or the game it would not be satisfying. But in Catherine when I complete a hard challenge in the game, I feel satisfied and full of pride, and that’s what a good game does. Makes you feel accomplished, makes you feel satisfaction for completing a challenge. I’m glad I can feel a surge of emotions after that.

All-in-all, Catherine is different and often disturbing, and I’m not sure if I can do it again, but just the fact that you can feel satisfied after beating a level is enough for me to call it a great game. I still wouldn’t recommend trophy-hunting though.

Leave a Reply

