Resisting domestication

The three couples other than Kenny’s embody the lifestyle I want to avoid having, and the kind of people I want to avoid becoming.

Sometimes I think about my future, and I wonder about what could happen in time. One prospect that comes up is that I might get married at some point. And I’m not a huge fan of the prospect.

It’s not that I don’t want to be with a woman. I like girls, but I don’t want to be domesticated by them. And you know the only reason people want to marry is because they’re brought up to want it. Especially girls, who from childhood are given fantasies of being married to the boy of their dreams for the rest of their lives, not knowing the truth until it’s too late, when divorce hits.

Speaking of divorce, that’s actually another reason I resist marriage, because when the inevitable divorce happens, guess who’s gonna lose the most? The man. And that’s bad for me if you haven’t noticed. And in marriage, it’s never truly an equal partnership. One of us eventually dominates the other. Marriage has bad effect on the individual freedom of both parties. And often in marriage, the domestication tends to lead to us becoming pathetic people, trained to fear what they once loved, in the name of “protecting” children, by which I mean protecting their right to make TV, video games, music, and the Internet responsible for looking after children, not them.

And really, who wants to become this sad, pathetic loser? Not me.

I’m not braggin’ on anybody’s rights here, if you want to marry or tie yourself down, then that’s fine (though I criticize the idea), but I don’t. I don’t hate women, I just don’t want to be domesticated and tied down by them. I don’t want to change myself for anyone, not least into a sensitive, dribbling, empty wreck.

This may or may not be related, but just to conclude I just feel like mentioning this quotation from Corey Taylor (of Slipknot and Stone Sour) about heavy metal and masculinity:

Metal is probably the last bastion of real rebellion, real masculinity, real, real men basically getting together and beating their chest. It’s perfectly alright for guys to go to a metal show, take their shirts off, and swing them above their heads, and go completely insane, instead of trying to be these like sensitive morons or whatever. Yeah, I love women and I’m, I’m totally respectful to them, but at the same time, I’m a guy, alright? I like hanging out with guys and doing dumb ****. It’s just that simple. I think metal is one of the few places where you can actually embrace that.

Leave a Reply

