Jesus never meant much to me

Lots of people pit Jesus as one of the most highly influential figures in history. We all know that’s based on religion, but that’s besides the point for now. Jesus to me always sounded like a person I had no reason to care about just because everybody was trying to make me care. I even fell for it for a short while when I was a kid, but that was based on fear, nothing else. It’s part of the reason I dislike Christianity to this day.

But back to Jesus for a moment. What did he do? He preached the end of the world and the coming of the kingdom of God, and maybe performed miracles on the side, but then he died on the cross and resurrected. That’s according to the Bible. What makes things difficult is that there’s no actual historical evidence that Jesus existed, not even from the Romans. I have heard that there were four supposed sources citing Jesus’ existence, and that those were later found to be forgeries.

Maybe it’s to do with my great mistrust of Christianity, maybe I’m sick of him being peddled all the time as some shining figure just because of the West’s Christian history, call it what you want, the fact remains that, for the most part, I don’t care. I praise him for being a rebel in a time of imperial domination, sure, but he failed.

Leave a Reply

