Objectifying women?

Looking at women through sexual eyes seems to be taboo to most, even vile. But I don’t see it that way. When I see women, I anything but a doll. I see beauty, but I don’t see an object. Surely sexual attractiveness is a part of beauty, is it not? And for me, all parts of the beauty I see are important. Therefore, I find that the sexual attractiveness of a women, however one defines it, is just as important as personal characteristics. In acknowledging her attractiveness, I am not objectifying her, but rather respecting an important part of her beauty, and I try to my best to be honest about it when I get the chance.

Let’s be clear, when you objectify someone, you view them as unimportant, expendable, valuable only in shallow ways, not having any rights, and not even having a soul. Who’s to say the men sending soldiers to their deaths aren’t objectifying them? Who’s to say company bosses aren’t objectifying their workers by treating them as nothing but expendable slaves? Who’s to say religious leaders don’t objectify their followers as mere sheep? Who’s to say we aren’t objectifying our children by treating them like we would our pets, or at worst abusing them? That is not how I view women at all. I do not view women as mere playthings or fodder without souls or rights. And why should I be lumped in with such people just because I look for sexual attractiveness in women? Of course sexual attractiveness isn’t all there is to women, but it is one the things that completes female beauty.

To be fair, if there is one part of society that actually does objectify women, it’s advertising. Advertising, usually, does not respect female beauty, but rather views women and their sexual attractiveness as just tools to sell products. Oh, and what about fashion? Fashion only sees one part of female beauty, and tries to impose whatever it sees as beautiful on both women and girls.

To conclude an unusually long post, we all have different ideas of beauty and sexual attractiveness, but it is important to respect one as important to the other.

6 responses to “Objectifying women?

Leave a Reply

